Chapter 26

TRANSLATOR – ANNIE

“I’m not leaving!” She almost felt at her wit’s end. “You promised me.”

His fingers finally released here. She looked at him. His body swayed twice, and finally fell down.

She was struck dumb, watching him lay on the ground, not moving.

The doctor reacted first. She rushed over to hold his neck, checked his pulse, and then said something out loud in Japanese. The nurse hurried out, and soon more people came in. The one who led them was clearly a surgeon. He did a quick treatment professionally, and then together with the medical staff, lifted him onto the push bed.

Afterwards, there were all sorts of check-ups. Du Xiaosu looked at the revolving people and the revolving medical instruments, pushing over here, pushed over there. Finally someone came to her, speaking in fluent Chinese, and asked her very patiently: “Mrs. Lei, Mr. Lei had suffered a brain injury before. Can you tell us the hospital where he was treated? We may need to borrow his diagnosis report and medical records.”

She raised her eyes, looked at the kind foreign old man, and muttered, “Will he die?”

“He won’t.” He comforted her. “It should be just an after effect of that previous accident. If nothing goes wrong, he will immediately wake up.” After a pause, he asked, “You don’t look well. Do you need to notify other people in the family? We can lend you the phone.”

As if verifying his words, a nurse walked over and told them: “He woke up.”

Lei Yuzheng was still attached to oxygen, so his complexion was very bad. The doctors told him to stay in the hospital for a couple of hours so they could keep tabs on his condition, so he couldn’t leave until a while later.

She asked: “Why did you break your promise?”

He looked tired, but he answered her: “I want to consider it again.”

“This is my business. I’ve already thought it through.”

He ignored her aggressiveness and just told her: “You are of RH negative blood type.”

“I know.”

“The doctor told me that if you don’t want this child, next time you get pregnant, there will be a blood type incompatibility with you and the child. The chances of miscarriage are very high. You might not even be able to give birth again.”

She didn’t have any expression: “I know. I don’t plan to have children in the future.”

This sentence was spoken out as plain as water, but it was like a knife, fiercely chopping at him. In his entire life, he never had such a crushed tone: “In the future, you will ultimately have to…”

“I don’t want to marry or have children in the future.” She looked at him quietly, “I just will be like this for the rest of my life.”

“I can send you abroad, Wellesley, Mount Holyoke, Columbia University… just pick any school and give birth to the child…”

A smile appeared on the corner of her lips: “Mr. Lei, you told me the same thing a long time ago, do you remember?”

Back then, because of Shao Zhenrong, in his office, he had asked her if she was willing to leave Zhenrong. In exchange, he could let her study abroad and choose any one of those prestigious schools.

At that time, neither he nor her were as repulsive as they were today. In just a few months, they seemed to have exhausted half a lifetime, and no longer had the strength to resist.

“I won’t go abroad.” She said, “I won’t have this baby either.”

“I’ll give you money, you name a price.”

Thinking of the humiliation of the two thousand yuan, she was successfully angered: “Money? Mr. Lei, how much do you think it is worth? Even if you bring me mountains of gold, I won’t even spare them a glance. I won’t give birth to this child because it is in and out vile spawn!”

Even with such ugly words, his face had no expression: “If you dare to move him, I will let your parents and family members be buried with him.”

The two were at a stalemate. There was only half a hospital bed in between, but she could only restrain her urge to charge over. Emotions still couldn’t be heard in his voice: “I’m sending you to a foreign country. You will give birth to this child. If you don’t want to take care of him, leave him to me. From now on, you can ignore him and act as if you have never given birth. If you are willing to bring him up, I will pay you and the child’s living expenses every month to ensure that the two of you can  live abroad. If the child belongs to me, I will not tell him who his biological mother is. If the child belongs to you, you have the right not to tell him who his father is.”

“Stop dreaming! I won’t give birth to your child.”

After a short silence, he said: “You can tell the child that his father died long ago. He is yours alone. I promise not to visit him.”

She laughed mockingly: “Why do you want to have this illegitimate child? Why?”

“Because I want to.” His eyebrows gradually returned to that of cold determination, “As you said, I have money, I have status, I have everything, so I must get what I want. I want this child, so you have to give birth to him. If you try anything, I will be merciless. At that time, watch you and all those people close to you suffer ugly deaths.”

She couldn’t help it: “Lei Yuzheng, one day I will kill you!”

“Wait until you have the ability before talking about it.”

Both of them glared at each other, as if trying to put each other to death, their breaths becoming heavy.

He suddenly leaned back on the head of the bed and said, “If you are willing to go abroad and give birth to this child, I will not disturb your life again, and never will.”

The words “never” made her a little moved. She was already in a hopeless situation, never to see the light of day again. She originally thought she would be unable to get rid of the entanglement with him, but because of his promise, she had a glimmer of hope. She looked at him suspiciously, but still said, “I won’t believe you.”

He said: “The child can be surnamed Shao.”

She understood what he meant and looked at him in shock.

He said: “As long as you want, I can be the child’s uncle or a stranger. I said that from now on, I will not disturb your life, and never will.”

She was already a little weak, but her voice was still persistent: “I won’t believe you anymore.”

“You said that you will never love or marry anyone again. If you had a child with you, perhaps you will feel different.” He said slowly, “You will forget me soon, and I will marry in the future. This matter won’t be known by anyone else. The child will never know. He can be born outside the country. You can live with him peacefully. No one will disturb you two.” He seemed exhausted, “If you agree, I can make arrangements to send you abroad right away.”

9 thoughts on “Chapter 26

  1. Thank you for translation. I enjoyed reading this book and watching the drama. I will be waiting patiently for the next chapters.

  2. I still wonder why the fact that she may not be able to get pregnant again after this child made him change his mind. I would get if he had just learned that the problem was from his own body but what is it to him if she can’t have another child if he promised not to be with her anymore ?
    Unless he still hopes that they might be together some day (unlike what he said) ? Did he somehow hope that after this child was aborted, they may have another one in the future ?
    Or maybe he just REALLY wants to have this everlasting bound with her and hearing the doctor’s words broke his resolve and I’m overthinking…

    “You will forget me soon, and I will marry in the future

    Yeah, I don’t think so. Somehow, I think Lei Yu Zheng will never stop waiting for her (and she will eventually admit his feelings for him and return to him)

    1. I honestly think he wants her to have a normal life, which may be married to another man with children. He thinks she deserves that. He does not believe that she wants or deserves him.

Leave a comment